Michael Green Audio Forum

https://tuneland.forumotion.com

Our Website  HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

The New Standard System

Go down 
+2
Obb
Sonic.beaver
6 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Obb

The New Standard System Empty
PostSubject: The New Standard System   The New Standard System Icon_minitimeTue Jun 18, 2013 11:08 am

Hello there!

I am a music lover from Thailand, and I have been tuning by myself for just a couple of months now since I discovered Tuneland.
I have been reading a lot of threads on the archive as well as Techno-Zone to get some of the basics and understand the concepts.
I even did some DIY to get a sense of what tuning could do to my room and system.

I accidentally found Tuneland when I was trying to decide whether I should get the Tunepak or the Square and XLT from Music Direct.
I did not know the differences between the two, and did not know anything about tuning. All I know is that I wanted to replace the dry and dull
knockoffs pillow products I was using. (I'm sorry Michael, that's what I could only find here) 

My first tuning experience was replacing the Rega Jupiter cd player I love to a simple Panasonic DVD player I have laying around.
At first it did not sound great. It sounded like a regular cheap player that is dry and sterile. BUT then I cracked the screws.
Yes…the screws made a huge difference. I took the cover off, and it was even better. I then started removing some of the big name
thick cables to the smallest ones I have and things were never better!

I have never owned the big names and expensive equipments because I like to play around with things like speaker placements
and other stuffs like acoustic. I have gone diffusing, damping and trapping direction. That worked at first, but when I started tuning,
they shut down and create blind spots in my room. Now I still have 4 panels of MDF diffuser in my room laying around since I can't carry them alone.